And this is what I listen to on the way to work

Well, not just these two …I have a whole collection of “Life isn’t over” music. Morning are sort of schizophrenic for me…on the one hand, I haven’t screwed anything up yet; on the other, I’m going into a place where everyone hates me and would just as soon shank me as look at me.

The longer I work where I work, the more I understand (well, understand is too broad…I get it, though), that there are people who don’t even know me who hate me. Hate every breath I take, every thought I have ever had in my head, every emotion I have ever had. Now, in my life, I have done plenty to make men hate me, but the key is that I DID something. With the guys I work with, I didn’t do anything except show up.

Most of the time, it doesn’t bother me. I have so many men I work with that the psychotics make up a very small percent of my case loads. It’s when there are other stressors; stressors I’m not even aware of, that makes what I do so dangerous. I’m right in the thick of it—no Plexiglas shield between a client and me. Sometimes I have a desk between us, but not usually.

So I listen to this music to pump me up, to fill up the vacant spaces in my head so I’m not totally out of my mind scared.

A little scared is good. Makes you not cocky. A lot of training helps, too….so that a lot of my behaviors are automatic…but there is still plenty of room in my head for me to get really scared because these guys are seriously wicked.

One thought on “And this is what I listen to on the way to work

Leave a Reply

