Knitting Meme

I stole this from Marji, who swiped it from Kate, who knicked it from Cat, who got it from Knitting Unraveled.  You know how these things go, right?

Anyway, I found it intriguing, along the lines of the book meme, and it follows the same basic instructions.  You mark the things you have knit in bold, you italicize the things you intend to try, and you leave the rest say WTF? to stuff you have no intention of ever trying. On the one hand, it’s a pretty impressive list. One the other hand, I’ve been knitting for 52 years. And on the other hand, some of this stuff, I’ve not done for…oh….twenty years. I had a more adventuresome knitting spirit when my kids were little…like bobbles and stuff.

I am not even sure what some of these things are, which means it must be research time on Ravelry.

Afghan
American/English knitting

Baby items…still my favorite things to do

Bobble..although I have yet to “get” these…they are pretty useless bits as far as I’m concerned
Buttonholes
Cable stitch patterns

Cardigan

Charity knitting

Combination knitting* NO IDEA WHAT THIS IS

Continental knitting…and it IS faster, only I’m not good enough at it to be
Cuffs/Fingerless mitts/arm-warmers
Darning

Designing knitted garments
Domino knitting*
Drop stitch patterns
Dyeing spinning fiber
Nope, no desire to spin
Dyeing with plant colors (in my hippie/Earth Mother days)
Dyeing yarn
Entrelac Not on my list
Fair Isle knitting Not on my list
Free-form knittingNot on my list
Fulling/felting I don’t get felting
Garter stitch
Gloves
Graffiti knitting No clue what this is
Hair accessories
Hats: Cuff-up
Hats: Top Down
Holiday related knitting
Household Items
I-cord
Intarsia probably not; it looks too complicated
Jewelry probably not
Kitchener stitch
Knitted flowers
Knitting a gift
Knitting a pattern from an on-line knitting magazine..like knitty?
Knitting and purling backwards* WTF? Okay, I looked this up and IT IS POINTLESS. Just either knit or purl. The end.
Knitting art
Knitting for a living That would defeat the WHOLE THING
Knitting for pets
Knitting for preemies
Knitting in public
Knitting items for a wedding…yeah, maybe
Knitting on a loom
Knitting smocking nope. Just regular smocking
Knitting socks (or other small tubular items) on one or two circulars, which is why I have moments of insanity NOW

Knitting to make money Never going to happen
Knitting two socks on two circulars simultaneously..didn’t say I had to finish
Knitting with alpaca MAKES ME ITCH
Knitting with bamboo yarn
Knitting with banana fiber yarn

Knitting with beads
Knitting with camel yarn...bison…and every other really expensive fiber since it is my job to keep the fiber economy afloat
Knitting with cashmere
Knitting with circular needles
Knitting with cotton

Knitting with dog/cat hair
Knitting with dpns
Knitting with linen
Knitting with metal wire
Knitting with recycled/secondhand yarn
Knitting with self patterning/self striping/variegated yarn
Knitting with silk

Knitting with someone else’s hand-spun yarn..I have my eye on some from Jen. I love that she includes a photo of the donor sheep!
Knitting with soy yarn
Knitting with synthetic yarn

Knitting with wool
Knitting with your own hand-spun yarn
Lace patterns
Long Tail CO

Machine knitting
Mittens: Cuff-up
Mittens: Tip Down
Moebius band knitting

Norwegian knitting*WTF? Okay, I get this. I’ll never DO it , but I get what it is…very pretty and to my eyes. really complicated. Probably easy for a Norwegian 5 year old. Of which I’m not.
Participate in an exchange
Participating in a KAL
Pillows
Publishing a knitting book Like that is ever going to happen
Purses/bags I want to do one with sari silk…I have a pattern here…somewhere
Rug….I have a pattern here…somewhere….
Scarf
Shawl
Short rows

Shrug/bolero/poncho Obviously you have not seen me
Slip stitch patterns
Slippers
Socks:toe-up
Socks: top-down
Steeks
Stockinette stitch

Stuffed toys
Swatching…I hates swatching
Sweater
Tassels
Teaching a child to knit
Teaching a male how to knit
Textured knitting
Thrummed knitting IT is not cold enough anywhere I am every going for this. EVER. IN. MY LIFETIME. eVEN IF THE sUN explodes.
Toy/doll clothing…Barbie doll dresses anyone
Tubular CO
Twisted stitch patterns
Two end knitting* sounds hard
Writing a pattern..well, one. Check out my blog for my all purpose baby sweater

The items marked with an asterisk (I love that word!) are the things I need to investigate because my reaction was “Huh?” or “What the Flip?”

4 thoughts on “Knitting Meme

  1. Yes, Jen, I WAS surprised at how much I’ve accomplished! Of course, some of it stuff I’ll never try again and some of it is just plain stuff I do all the time.

    “Knitting with someone else’s hand-spun yarn..I have my eye on some from Jen. I love that she includes a photo of the donor sheep!”

Leave a Reply

