The one about my sewing basket

I knit and sew and I have a sewing basket at hand. It was a basket I found at a yard sale and I lined it with some cute fabric with lots of pocket-y spaces, with a padded pincushion space on the inside of the lid.

I have some Altoid tins for sharp things.

Cute pincushions are my downfall. (See?)

I like good thread, which is almost impossible to find anymore and I have some silk thread which is almost as rare as hen’s teeth. It really makes a difference when you are hand stitching…which I guess is a dying skill.

I have a button collection, too. I keep them in pretty jars in the window. When we move to the hotel, I’m putting in glass shelves in my sewing room so I can see the light play through the colors. They aren’t antiques, just pretty. That window doesn’t get full sun and will have a linen scrim on it, so I figure they are safe.

Scrim directions

I have done this on LOTS of windows with great success.

We get too mcuh light in the bedroom, so I picked out a navy blue quilt fabric, sort of cut it to fit, soaked it in liquid starch and then smoothed it on the glass. The next day, I used my rotor cutter to trim it to fit. Three years later, it looks like it did it last week. The starch will make it adhere to the window, but you can spritz it with water and peel it off. The starch comes off easily.

I locked myself out of the beach house, so we knocked out the glass on the back door. I put up a scrim, cut it to fit and it still looks brand new 5 years later. I used a pretty yellow quilt fabric and it gives me privacy and light.

Linen scrim on my dual pane window. The linen is quite an open weave and will have both a pull shade and a curtain on the window. I just don;t like so much bright light streaming in. So I’ll measure the window lengthwise, buy that much fabric (since this is a tall narrow window). Then I’ll cut odd the selvage and soak it in a mixing bowl, filled with undiluted starch, right out of the bottle. Squeeze out the excess and just scooch it into place by hand. Then use a credit card and smoosh out all the bubbles. Next day, use your rotary and trim the rough edges off.

Leave a Reply

