So who am I, really?

This has been a hard week for me, emotionally. I’ve cried and sobbed and felt sorry for myself. I’m sure my little worries are nothing compared to others, but for me they are big enough to make me cry and since I don’t sit around sobbing to friends on the phone, it rates right up there.

#1 with a bullet.

An 8 because you can dance to it. You have to be a baby boomer to get that one.  (American Bandstand with Dick Clark)

You know, mothering is a hard thing. One of the nurses who gives me my shots for my head went to school with my daughter. She is a lovely girl/woman with a one year old. She asked me if I was a strict mother, because she thought Lisi really had it together in high school. I told her Lisi was a force of nature unto herself and the best I could do was tell her that she would be judged by the company she kept. That was about the best I could do.

So what does the company I keep say about me? Are they kind? Polite? Would their behavior embarrass me? I have an extremely close friend whom I’ve know since Ben was an infant. She doesn’t know my history from a distance, she lived my history, as I have hers.

If you looked at an audience and saw her, you would think to yourself, “She looks like a kind person.” (Me, they’d say “She looks like a maniac.”)  Which is what my Da would call me when I did something he didn’t want me to do–I was either a maniac or a lunatic.

Am I the kind of supportive friend my friends can count on? I think I do the best I can, with the friends who are patient enough to realize I’m not irritating them intentionally.

SO here are the emergency numbers I call, if my real-in-life friends are unavailable and I don’t need 911.
Emergency Numbers:
When in sorrow………………………..call JOHN 14
When men fail you……………………call PSALM 27
When you have sinned………………call PSALM 51
When you worry……………………….call MATTHEW 6:19-43
When you are in danger……………..call PSALM 91
When God seems far away…………call PSALM 91
When your faith needs help…………call HEBREWS 11
When you are lonely and fearful……call PSALM 23
When you are bitter…………………..call 1 COR 13
For Paul’s secret to happiness……. call COL 3:12-17
When you feel down & out…………. call ROMANS 8:31
When you want peace & rest……… call MATT 11:25-30
When you travel………………………..call PSALM 121
When you want courage……………..call JOSHUA 1
To get along with others………………call ROMANS 12
If you are depressed…………………..call PSALM 27
If you pocketbook is empty………….call PSALM 37
If you lose confidence in people…….call 1 COR 13
If people seem unkind…………………call JOHN 15
Discouraged about work………………call PSALM 126
—–.Alternate Numbers:
For dealing with fear……………………call PSALM 34:7
For security………………………………call PSALM 121:3
For assurance……………………………call MARK 8:35
For reassurance…………………………call PSALM 145:18

I got them at church, where I go because…well. everyone needs to listen to the music sometimes.

7 thoughts on “So who am I, really?

  1. I am a maniac…lol…I have friends that are so solid, so connected…so grounded…at times, at night…when I am most vulnerable…I envy my solid friends…one day, if I ever make it back to California…where I was actually born and bred…I would love to meet up with you for a coffee and a visit…take care of yourself…and btw…did you catch that sale at Horchows?

    1. Didn’t catch the sale, but as Lisi says, when we see it, we’ll manage to buy it! And you are invited any time..you are like family.

  2. Great philosophy – being judged by the company you keep. I have always taught my three that…and their friends are pretty good people. Thank God.

    Why are you crying so much? Is it the pain of your head and/or shoulder? The worry about Mike? Please accept this gentle cyber hug and add me to your list of numbers to call – well, maybe your email addresses to type to.
    ((((((((((((((Chloe))))))))))))))))))

    1. How is the heart in your throat driving now? Better? ANd your head? Is it better in the summer/ have you tried the O.U.C.H. website yet?

  3. Long time, Chloe!!! This is “Life” from Teachers.net. I just wanted to catch up with you and see how you are doing! I still think of you and say prayers for you, girl. (((((((Chloe))))))))

Leave a Reply

