A new skill (Knit and Crochet Blog Week)

Is there a skill related to your hobby that you hope to learn one day? maybe you’re a crocheter who’d also like to knit? Maybe you’d like to learn to knit continental, knit backwards, try cables or attempt stranded colourwork.
I’ve tried most of that stuff and it doesn’t speak to me. I mastered continental but when I’m knitting, I’m aiming for the Zen and relaxation of knitting, so I knit American style. I’m not going for speed, I’m going for the sensual enjoyment of the feel of the yarn.
I’ve tried writing patterns but really? My dressmaker’s muslin works for me. Unlike many of my knitting friends. I don’t MIND making the same pattern more than once or even fifty times. I’m skilled enough that I can add a cable down the sleeves or steek or make a non-droopy buttonhole band. I can do a ruffle on the cuff or a bit of lace edging at the hem. To entertain myself, I’ll do different edging or pearl darts.What I like is working with pretty yarns. Pretty, easy on my hands, non-itchy and enjoyable. My life is tough enough without making a hobby that is supposed to be enjoyable into something that is hard, ugly and “a challenge.” I work in a super max prison and my day is challenging enough. Give me enjoyment.

So maybe, the skill I’m searching for are just enjoyable patterns that I can fiddle enough with to make into what I want. I went through a period where I was collecting patterns as if tomorrow they would stop making them. How silly. Working on my favorites gives me both the enjoyment, peace AND stops my brain from saying stuff like “:Loser!” “Stupid!” :”Moron!” “Idiot1”. I have enough people outside of my life who are willing to give me that input. If what I do for relaxation makes me feel like that, it’s time for a change.

And I do knit…but I am enjoying my counted cross stitch much more. With knitting, I don’t have to think;. I can just do it. With cross stitch, I actually have to empty my brain and attend to my work. So for me? Knitting is a good pastime for the car, during meetings, watching television. When I truly want to quiet the demons in my head? It’s cross stitch.
knitcroblo4

Leave a Reply

