Goals in knitting (Knit and Crochet Blog Week)

Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be because the skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so!

I took a lace class from the most entertaining Galina. I found my bliss there because lace? Pfft. It’s nothing. It’s all plain knitting. I’m at work on miles of a “sweetheart and dots” ( the fourth sample)piece of lace trim and except that I’m using teeny tiney itty bitty needles (look for the very teeniest ones), it’s so very simple. The sweetheart and dots is the one I’m doing. (About halfway down ont the link) I have about  six  yards for six  windows in my bedroom at the hotel and after I have that put on, I may do a honeycomb trim as well. It is funny that when you are trimming out plain curtains that you can’t really see if it works until it’s done and then you have to look at it hanging up to see if the proportion looks right. Although the laceowrk looks hard, it is just a repeat for miles.  The pattern I’m doing is one of my own making from the KINDERGARTEN patterns. Children start doing this before they start to read, so it’s dead easy. You can pick and choose the components. It is relaxing but only 2 inches wide, so there is a lot of turning with it. 

http://www.amazon.com/Gossamer-Webs-History-Techniques-Orenburg/dp/1883010411/ref=pd_rhf_p_t_1 are some of the books I’m using.
I took the class from Galina Khmeleva, who single handedly saved this delicate looking artform.
She taught an all day class at Stitches 2010 and I plan to go again next year. She is a delightful teacher and not only generous with praise, she is equally generous with extra help if you have problems. (Keep in mind that your best work is NOT done at a workshop), but to my surprise, I caught on very easily.

She has a background in sewing, so not only did I understand her Russian, I came from the same background, which made the class even that more enjoyable.
knitcroblo2

Leave a Reply

