Location, Location, Location (Knit and Crochet Blog Week)

Where do you like to indulge in your craft? Is your favorite arm chair your little knitting cubby area, or do you prefer to ‘knit in public’? Do you like to crochet in the great outdoors, perhaps, or knit in the bath, or at the pub?
First place is my wing back chair. I have a great coffee table with sliding baskets, a BIG Chinese wedding basket for this that and the other, great custom knitting bags, and as a side table, an treadle sewing machine. Oddly, I know where every single thing is (except for my scissors.) If my project is one which can fit into one of my very cool bags, I drag that around to meetings, appointments and rides in the car. And I have no problem knitting in public if I’m the one who is waiting. If I’m the one getting called? Too much fiddly stuff to gather up and drag into an examination room. (Why is it that I can wait forever but the instant a doctor walks into the room, I’m supposed to be reading to go from 0-60? In a paper dress, no less?)

I used to have a project for home, one for the car and one for the little weekend house we have at the seaside. Too many little bits to keep track of. So now I have just two things going on-one knitting project that goes or stays and one needlework project that goes or stays. Easier that way.

How do I decide which one I’m working on? Depends on what I’m reading and how much Zen I need and how much of my brain needs to be busy. Hard weeks? Needlework. Easy weeks? Knitting. (And of course, if I’m on the boat, in the kayak or sitting on the beach? Knitting. Less little stuff to fiddle with.)

I do like to knit on road trips. Usually something smallish, although I did a gorgeous basket weave chenille throw for my in-laws (whom I adore). I started it at home and steadily knitting through Oregon, Washington, to Coeur d’alene, down thru Idaho, into Pearl, through Utah (Hi, Pat!), Nevada (cha-ching!) and into Arizona. I just had the fringe to finish once we got into Prescott after a side trip to the Grand Canyon. (Sunrise is the best part of the whole Grand Canyon experience. It is breath taking.) I love making basket weave afghans. They are just engaging enough that I can spend most of my time looking out the window and enjoying whatever weather we are in. (Except for lots of snow. I don’t LIKE snow and I like blizzards even less. All handwork stops, because I need to watch the road so I’ll know when I need to dash under the dashboard. For reals.) I used to knit in bed, but when you share space with children, dogs. spouse, it gets a little crowded.  (And yes, I do have photo of all of these things; I’ve lost my camera cord and never have it with me when I’m thinking about it.)
knitcroblo5

Leave a Reply

