It’s not a recession, it’s a depression

The economy is awful.

I’ve been teaching my entire adult life and in the last 12 months, my job was on the line. I didn;t realize how all encompassing the worry was until I was safe in March. I am on the bottom of the entire state now, so it is just a matter of time, which tosses me right back into the total worry/fret/depression pit.

So I’m retiring, which is a pit of itself. I hurt myself at work last November and am still waiting for surgery. I want to ride out this injury before I retire but I don’t want to go back to work, unless I am going to work in the testing office. I’m really good with paperwork; not so good with the day to day grind of a classroom. So I want to work as long as possible, because it is silly to leave money on the table.  Worry worry worry.

So I’ve been out with this injury since January and today is the first day that I honestly feel like doing anything…anything being getting dressed, going to the market and the library. The last six months have been just a merry-go-round of medical appointments, physical therapy and some serious pain…not something that makes me hop up in the morning with a to-do list.

My house, my yard and my closet has suffered.

Oh, I have the to do list.  I read FlyLady every day. I check out Martha Stewart every day, too. But mainly I have just been trying to keep putting one foot in front of the other. I think maybe I’ve turned the corner, since I bought new vacuum bags…that’s a start, don;t you think?

Leave a Reply

