Julie and Julia

I loved the book, written by Julie Powell. I have my own copy of Julia Child’s book and have made many….interesting meals. Never thought of cooking my way thru it, though. (I did cook my way thru 365 ways to Fix Chicken….my kids were little and didn’t mind.)

So I’m reading her new book, Cleaving. She is apprenticing as a butcher. Heck, I grew up on a farm and always got to stay home when the butcher came. It was interesting. He really knew a lot of stuff.

So I’m cruising through this book, mainly not getting all the interpersonal relationship stuff. Right around page 243, Julie is in Africa and it is REALLY GREAT. Great enough to forgive her every single preceding page. Actually, from page 243 to the end, it just really rolls along.

Leave a Reply

