Two sticks and some string

I’ve been knitting since I was five. Grandma Martha gave me two sticks and some string. I watched her and voila! I’m one of those visual learners–I need to actually see the action to figure it out. But knitting is at the heart of it, just two sticks and some string and just knit and purl. It is not harder than it looks.

I spent the next 25 years knitting a couple of sweaters a year, making baby things for showers. It wasn’t until I was pregnant with my son, Ben, that I really started turning out projects. Then, as he got older and not so baby-like, we would shop for yarn and he would tell me what he wanted and I started to design my own stuff. Nothing like an idea from a three year-old to set me to sketching.

Then I was pregnant with Lisi and yahooley! was able to take the whole nine months off. (Lucky, I know!)
We’d go to the Tot Lot park every single day and I would knit and Ben would play. I think I managed to finish a project every week, as well as wee socks for my boy. I have a whole collection of darning eggs because kids are hard on everything!

In the last 25 years, I’ve made sweaters and afghans and socks and two years ago, learned Estonaian knitting, which only looks hard. It’s all just knitting and as complicated as it looks, it’s still just two sticks and some string. I have the added advantage of not having to collect the goat hair, clean and card it, spin it and then knit it…plus dig potatoes, milk the cows and worry about the Russian Army.

So here is am, knitting away for years, seaming things up, inserting zippers and in general, treating the fabric and garment I’ve made like a sewing project. Then knitter Marji mentioned she had gotten this book Seven Things, because she is a Serious Knitter, who has a great desire to improve her skills. Well, me too!

Knitting technique is important. In many ways, changing patterns to suit myself was just the same as changing sewing patterns to fit. Knitting is much the same; the finishing techniques will giving you either a handmade, bespoke garment or what I call “loving hands at home”.
So I got the book and fiddled with the tips and techniques and the pages are now filled with my scribbled notes. Some things I already knew. Some things I knew how to do (IMO) better.

Having a book filled with techniques is always a good thing, because sometimes, when I’m reading blogs that bewail how hard something is, I forget that it is just knitting and purling. Just two sticks and some string.

2 thoughts on “Two sticks and some string

  1. oh my Chloe, I knitted two scarves……just casted on 30 and knit until I ran out of yarn. That’s all I have done. Don’t know how to do anything more but I wish I did. I love that I just kept going on and on and on. No counting just knit and knit and knit! I wish I were better!

  2. And now with the internet we can find others who also know that ‘sticks and string’ thing, share what we know, find far more shops, read the ups and downs of yarns we can’t get locally, help others learn some of those skills/stitches/tricks we have learned. We can show off what we make, see what others made, get ideas, ‘borrow’ ideas and patterns, find stitch patterns we never dreamed, expand our horizons, it’s amazing how far a couple sticks and some string can take us now days, and how far some of those things we make will go as we often pack them up and ship them off as gifts to loved ones far away..

Leave a Reply

