I’m not really a knitter

I like to cross stitch. I like losing myself into a complicated pattern.

Knitting is crazy making for me, unless it is a pattern I’ve made a hundred times. I have a friend who truly doesn’t like to make a pattern twice. Me? I like knowing what is next. But then with knitting (in the words of Brenna), you are making both the fabric and the garment at the same time, so there are a myriad of ways to screw up.

With cross-stitch, because I am constantly counting and checking my work, it is pretty easy to see where I’ve gone off the rails, so to speak.

I’m working on three botanicals to go in my bedroom–lily, rose and tulip–in pinks. Then I have a huge piece (so huge, I have to special order the fabric!!) It will probably take me a year to do. It will go over my giant spa tub, where I will be able to enjoy it every day of my life. It is a huge wildflower garden with bugs and butterflies and will be about five by three.

I think one of the things I like about embroidery is that it is so orderly. The floss has numbers and is wound on bobbins and labeled and filed according to number. Everything fits in little floss boxes and takes up almost no room at all.

Knitting, however is like life. It is messy. It takes up room. It is full of do-overs (okay, not like life). It is rarely what you thought it was going to actually be. And once you are done, you might not like it a bit. (I made a dirt colored afghan for Lisi. I didn’t like the color and the yarn was itchy. She loves it).

So today, I’ll dig around in my sewing room for about an hour and then the rest of the day, I’m stitching.

Leave a Reply

