This will tear your heart out

I taught school for almost 30 years and I thought I kept an eye out for bullying. I tried to teach my students how to stand up for themselves; how to say “LEAVE ME ALONE” in a powerful voice.

But I wasn’t there to help my son.

He didn’t want to burden me with a problem that he thought was his. Was him.

No one ever taught me how to say “Leave me alone”. I didn’t want to burden my parents with the problem that I thought was mine. Was me.

Even now, I think that when people are deliberately mean to me, it must be my fault.

Leave a Reply

