“To me, the greatest pleasure of writing is not what it’s about, but the inner music the words make.” Truman Capote

I figured out how to play this on the piano and then decided to learn how to sign it. (Sixteen years of lessons were not totally wasted. I can play by ear what and when I want. I just don’t want an audience. Performance anxiety.)

I learned to sign back in high school and took classes off and on through college. My mother was losing her hearing and I thought I would learn to sign so she would have someone to talk to. She never learned to sign, because I was the only person she knew who could sign and why would she waste her time with anything I had to say. She was funny  like that. So at the last nursing home she was in, I went to a staff meeting with her and the therapists and nurses. I was signing and talking to her (she could read lips). The nurse said “Oh, I thought she couldn’t sign!” Well, she couldn’t. I could. But whenever i talked with her, I would sign, if for no other purpose than to keep ME fluent. So I’m working on this because I just like the way it feels to sign “Rollin’ in the Deep”…such an expressive song!

I’m working on this one, too

Leave a Reply

