Eight months

It is not so raw and horrid, but it is very hard to think I have another entire life to live without Mike.

I’m in the midst of gutting a rental and putting it back together. Inside every big project, there is going to be some bonehead, money wasting part of it. I had Hubba Hubbard tear out a bathroom wall only to discover that it  didn’t need moving. The wow! shower came with a jacuzzi tub in it, so we don’t need the claw foot in there. Put the wall back

Effing termites under the laundry room—good thing the pest control guys were coming out to spray for ticks and fleas AND that the skirting had been ripped off. They can saturate the ground and not have to tent the house.I spent a THOUSAND dollars having the two shop yards cleaned up—weed whacked, raked and tossed out, then all of the junk left behind by former renters taken to the dump. FOUR giant televisions and several rolls of carpet, corrogated tin, random lumber and two dump trailers filled with limbs someone cut down and just let lay. My shop yards and empty lots look like I own them now. Jimmy would approve.

Busy inside the flat where the dogs and I live. New drapes for the master bedroom and library. New bedding on my big bed. My sewing room has been moved to the back bedroom; the office Is in my old sewing room. New kitchen curtains. Shopping for a new sectional for the library. Bought a big marble topped dresser for the guest suite, where I am. It’s a smaller room and easier to cool.              

Most exciting news? Lisi had a little boy at the end of June. Kaleb Benjamin. 7 pounds, 9 ounces; 20 inches long. Dark hair and BLUE eyes. He looks exactly like Lisi and Ben when they were babies.  They looked exactly like me. I looked exactly like my mother. I do have photos to post…of Kaleb, of the rental and of my projects inside and out, as well as both k it ting and sewing. But all that posting is for another day!

The veranda is about 1,000 square feet. It takes a long time to paint. The first time, we painted ourselves into a corner and had to wait until it dried. The second time, we planned better. The last time, we climbed in thru the windows.
The veranda is about 1,000 square feet. It takes a long time to paint. The first time, we painted ourselves into a corner and had to wait until it dried. The second time, we planned better. The last time, we climbed in thru the windows.
4 thoughts on “Eight months

  1. so good to see you back into the blogging groove! I’m giving my last final exams for the summer sessions today. 30 football players in June, 27 in July – I had to go “Army Drill Sergeant” in the presence of the VP students on them. 3 weeks off, then back into action. When I’m not teaching, I’m canning spaghetti sauce – uses up the tomatos more efficiently – 30 quarts and counting

  2. Beautiful and touching name for the baby. Many congratulations to all involved. Glad to read you again and some things never change – I see you are carrying your energy for design and hard work into your new life. Bless you.

Leave a Reply

